Infinite Suburbia: CICA Bruno Zevi Book Awards

Infinite Suburbia edited by Alan M. Berger, Joel Kotkin, and Celina Balderas-Guzman has received an honourable mention from the 2020 CICA Bruno Zevi Book Awards.The International Committee of Architectural Critics (CICA) will present the winners of the 2020 Book, Exhibition Catalogue, Journalism and Digital Communication Awards, at the online CICA Symposium to be held in conjunction with the UIA World Congress Rio de Janeiro 2021 on 19 July 2021 at 10:00 a.m. Rio de Janeiro time.

Infinite Suburbia is the culmination of the MIT Norman B. Leventhal Center for Advanced Urbanism's year long study of the future of suburban development. Extensive research, an exhibition, and a conference at MIT's Media Lab, this groundbreaking collection presents fifty-two essays by seventy-four authors from twenty different fields, including, but not limited to, design, architecture, landscape, planning, history, demographics, social justice, familial trends, policy, energy, mobility, health, environment, economics, and applied and future technologies. This exhaustive compilation is richly illustrated with a wealth of photography, aerial drone shots, drawings, plans, diagrams, charts, maps, and archival materials, making it the definitive statement on suburbia at the beginning of the twenty-first century.

The international jury included: Wilfried Wang (Chair, Germany/USA) Fernando Diez (Argentina) Karen Eicker (South Africa) Louise Noelle Gras (Mexico) Süha Özkan (Turkey) Xing Ruan (China/Australia) Joseph Rykwert (USA/UK)
Assistant to the Jury Trenton A. Sexton (USA)

The International Committee of Architectural Critics CICA has, since it was established in Mexico City in 1978, been closely associated with the World Congresses of the International Union of Architects. The inaugural meeting of CICA was held in the Joan Mir  Foundation in July 1979 when Julius Posener (Germany) was elected the first CICA President, with Bruno Zevi (Italy), Jorge Glusberg (Argentina), Dennis Sharp (UK) and Pierre Vago (France) as Directors. The current President is Joseph Rykwert and CICA Board Members are Fran ois Chaslin (France), Manuel Cuadra (Germany), Louise Noelle Gras (Mexico), Süha Özkan (Turkey), and Yasmin Shariff (UK). CICA has held critical sessions since, in Warsaw, Cairo, Brighton, Rome, Vienna, Chicago, Sydney, Barcelona, Istanbul, Montreal, Paris, New York, London, Gelsenkirchen, Beijing, Berlin, Rio de Janeiro, Buenos Aires, Kuwait, Vancouver, Istanbul, Torino, Tokyo, Durban and Seoul.